New York DWI Lawyer Explains the Penalties for Driving While Impaired
Many times as an experienced New York DWI Lawyer, I will get asked what the penalties are for driving while impaired are. In New York, if you wind up with a plea bargain of driving while ability impaired, the first thing to remember is that it’s not a crime, it’s a traffic infraction. The penalties are a minimum of $300 fine and a maximum of a $500 fine and there’s also a surcharged owed to the court of $250. The Department of Motor Vehicles will send you a very unhappy letter, which will charge you an additional $750; $250 a year for three year. Other penalties are that you may be required to do the drunk driving program, which is a seven class program, approximately two hours each night for the drunk driving program. On certain occasions, driving while impaired may also require you to do one class called the Victim Impact Panel, which is one class for two and a half hours.
Have you been arrested for Driving While Impaired in New York State? Contact experienced New York DWI Lawyer Carl Spector to defend you.